Jason White wins Supaloc Targa Adelaide

Tasmanian driver Jason White has won Supaloc Targa Adelaide at his first attempt, driving his 2011 Lamborghini Gallardo to a comfortable victory after four days and 28 stages of tarmac rallying.

The reigning CAMS Australian Targa Champion took out the first round of the 2012/2013 series, heading home the Nissan GT-R of Tony Quinn by 25 seconds, with another Nissan GT-R, driven by Peter Rullo in third place.

South Australian driver, Craig Haysman, dominated the Shannons Classic Outright competition in his 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, finishing one minute and 15 seconds clear of Nick Streckeisen’s 1985 Porsche 944 Turbo.

The final day of Supaloc Targa Adelaide saw competitors tackle three stages in dry conditions. With a lead of 44 seconds heading into the day, White was able to hold off a fast-finishing Quinn in order to secure victory.

It is White’s fourth victory in a row, having won the previous three Targa events, and confirms him as Australia’s leading Targa rally driver.

“Today wasn’t too bad, although I’m glad there wasn’t anymore dry running as our tyres had nearly had it,” White said.

“We chose a medium compound tyre for this event and they didn’t like the dry at all – especially Gorge Road where there’s some really long corners and the tyres don’t get a rest.

“But we’re very happy to get to the finish and it’s good to get a win away from home.

“The event was brilliant and everything was very well organised. The stages were absolutely brilliant – particularly the Basket Range and Gorge Road tests.

“We’ve got a few things to work out with some electrical gremlins, but we think we might have got on top of those today, and hopefully we’ll have it all sorted before Targa High Country.”

Quinn pushed hard over the final day, but in the end he ran out of stage distance and had to settle for second place, less than half a minute behind.

Rullo was a further three minutes behind, followed by the Mitsubishi Lancer of South Australian, Andrew Burnard, and Peter Leemhuis’ Nissan GT-R.

In Classic Outright, Craig Haysman and Neil Branum gave their new Triumph TR7 its perfect debut event.

“The car’s been great,” Haysman said. “It’s totally different to the car I drove last year. It’s a lot easier to drive in the wet and just has more power and more balance.”

With Nick Streckeisen second and Roger Paterson third, it was a clean sweep for the South Australians on the podium.

Bill Brentzell’s 1965 Shelby GT350 won by nearly four minutes in the Shannons Early Classic Handicap section, and Nick Streckeisen finished 35 seconds clear in Late Classic.

Adelaide’s Tim Possingham was in a class of his own, winning Early Modern, and Greg Burrowes made the trip from Queensland worthwhile with victory in the Showroom 4WD class.

Glyn Crimp (Showroom) and Neill Ford (Showroom Sports) won their respective classes, while John Goodall and Graham Palich (Porsche Cayman) were the stand-out crew in the Regularity class.

The next round of the CAMS Australian Targa Championship is Victoria’s Targa High Country, to be run out of Mt Buller from November 9-11.

1. Jason White / John White, 2011 Lamborghini Gallardo, 22m24s
2. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett, 2011 Nissan GT-R, +25s
3. Peter Rullo / Simon Iseppi 2012 Nissan GT-R, +3m30s
4. Andrew Burnard / Tim Magarch, 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII, +9m07s
5. Peter Leemhius / Ben Fitzsimons, 2008 Nissan GT-R, +11m50s

1. Craig Haysman / Neil Branum, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, 34m11s
2. Nick Streckeisen / Mike Dale, 1985 Porsche 944 Turbo, +1m15s
3. Roger Paterson / Paul Whatnell, 1974 Porsche 911 RS, +1m43s
4. Barry Faux / Therezia Mihajlovic, 1979 Mazda RX7, +1m50s
5. Donn Todd / Dean Tighe, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, +2m31s

1. Bill Brentzell / Karien Heimsohn, 1965 Shelby GT350, 31m21s
2. Rob Black / Vivek Ponnusamy, 1971 Porsche 911 S, +3m53s
3. Andrew Bryson / Craig Milich, 1964 Hillman Imp Rallye, +4m02s
4. Donn Todd / Dean Tighe, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, +4m11s
3. Richard Woodward / Neil Gibson, 1969 Holden Monaro GTS, +4m21s

1. Nick Streckeisen / Mike Dale, 1985 Porsche 944 Turbo, 28m39s
2. Barry Faux / Therezia Mihajlovic, 1979 Mazda RX7, +35s
3. Bruce Power / Ray Baker, 1979 Mazda RX7, +59s
4. Roger Paterson / Paul Whatnell, 1974 Porsche 911 RS, +2m24s
5. Craig Haysman / Neil Branum, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, +2m28s

1. Tim Possingham / Ben Scott, 1990 Nissan Skyline GT-R, 30m21s
2. Adam Kaplan / David Kaplan, 1988 Holden Commodore HSV, +5m37s
3. Andre Lukasz / Adam Tillett, 1994 Nissan 200 SX, +5m44s
4. Andrew Booker / Chris Edmonson, 1990 Nissan 180 SX, +8m47s
5. Richard Perini / Chris Perini, 2000 Porsche 911 GT3, +9m31s

1. Greg Burrowes / Rhonda Burrowes, 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, 38m20s
2. Michael Flood / Nathan Green, 2012 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, +2m15s
4. Allan Mair / Michelle Mair, 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, +9m51s

1. Glyn Crimp / Paul van der Mey, 2010 Ford Focus RS, 45m32s

1. Neill Ford / Nathalie Ford, 2007 Chevrolet Corvette Z06, 41m51s

1. John Goodall / Graham Palich, 2009 Porsche Cayman, 308 points
2. Richard Davis / Bill Best, 2008 HSV W427, 366 points
3. Graeme Lowe / Gordon Elley, 1983 Porsche 911, Turbo

Leave a Reply